Sitting by the Rice Fields

12 Oct

I haven’t seen the sun in a long time. The past few days have been nothing but dark clouds and rain.

It’s beautiful. I missed the feeling of the sun on my face and the wind on my hair.

I could live here.

Far away from all the things I love in the city: the bustling life and the noisy streets.

Here, it’s all green things and clean air. It’s quiet but the noise of the birds is refreshing. The sight of the swaying plants and the gentle whirl of the windmill are so peaceful that I can’t help but fall in love with this place.

If only escape were an option, this would be my only choice.

My life has been one whole chaotic rumble since the year started. I can’t recall a time when I’ve felt as peaceful as I do now, when I stare at the vast sprawling fields before me.

The voice inside my head has been too noisy, even when I sit in silence. I’m surprised my brain hasn’t burned yet from all the pressure of always thinking too much.

If only I could see things simply. I wouldn’t have to complicate the smallest, most trivial things.

If only life was just about waking up every morning, going to work, then going back to bed at night. If only love was just about finding the one person who will love you as much as you love them.

If only survival was our only instinct.

If only we were just born to die.

I like birds. They have this ability to understand danger like no other animal. Their capability to escape can never be surpassed by any predator. After all, how can you catch something that can fly?

If only I could also fly away with one flick of my wings whenever I feel that pain is about to come.

Why is it our innate nature to fight something that hurts? Why can’t we just fly away and move on?

Confusing reality for humans.

We get condemned every time we try to move away from something that’s painful. Cowards.

But really, what do we get from fighting?

The vicious cycle of being a human is stupid.

Our judgments too complex.

If only everything were simple; as simple as the day ending and the night coming or as simple as the direction of the flowing river, from one end to the other.

Man has become too intelligent to comprehend simple.

Every question has to be answered. Every emotion has to be felt.

For a few who feels more deeply, everything becomes more complicated. Everything becomes more complex.

For a few who thinks more deeply, everything has a reason. Everything has a purpose.

The sun will set and rise in another place and in another time.

The book will eventually close at one point in our lives.

When do we decide what’s worth it and who’s worth it?

2 Responses to “Sitting by the Rice Fields”

  1. Ray V November 3, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    I have been following your blog for more than an year now. It seems like a calm came over you now. This is inevitable, just like the warm sun after the rain.

    You have a beautiful mind and heart. Life is an oxymoron, you can enjoy it to the fullest as long as you are slightly detached to it 🙂

    • Sheryl Blossom November 4, 2014 at 5:20 pm #

      Thank you for that heartwarming comment 😊 it’s really nice to know that people actually take the time to read my blogs.

Leave a Reply

