Defining Faith

18 Apr

image

I was never religious. I don’t read the bible everyday nor do I go to church every chance I get. I don’t remember the life stories of saints and I don’t pray the rosary all the time. I don’t memorize every novena of every Saint there is. But I like to believe that I am spiritual. I don’t let my faith be defined by the judgement of other people. I don’t talk to God only when I’m praying, I find myself talking to Him whenever I feel like it. I like to think of Him as an invisible friend who always listens and silently answers. I never believed that faith is strengthened by worshipping God in public. What about for us who doesn’t see the church as the only house of God? Why can’t it be in the vast blue sky with the shining sun and the glowing moon? Why can’t it be in the sea of faces and cars that fill in the city? Or why can’t it be in my favorite nook of peace at home? Some people easily condemn other people who don’t go around talking about their love for God. I don’t do that. But I don’t think I love Him any lesser than they do. We all love differently. Some people need to understand that the measures of society are not the measures of God. Judging others is not in the bible that they claim to know so well — but they do it anyway. Not everyone who goes to church are holy and not everyone who’s never been to church are bad.

image

I am loving God in my own way. And He knows that. The problem with living in a catholic community is that they let tradition dictate their relationship with God. He only asked us to love him, completely. He didn’t ask us to condemn others who love him differently.

Toodles. 💋

10 Responses to “Defining Faith”

  1. gruntfootman April 19, 2014 at 12:07 am #

    Prayer empowers me and reading helps my prayer-life grow. Keep looking up. ALL THE BEST!

    • gruntfootman April 19, 2014 at 12:17 am #

      Many people believe the same as you and only know what is appropriate for themselves. As long as I do not sin against my conscience, I feel OK.

      • Sheryl Blossom April 19, 2014 at 12:46 am #

        i agree. πŸ™‚ as long as you know in your hrart that you havent sinned against Him, that should be enough to keep your relationship with God.

      • gruntfootman April 19, 2014 at 2:33 am #

        Keep the Faith and I hope Easter Sunday is quiet for you.

      • stresstic April 19, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

        I believe the same, to a degree, but I also believe we can do things we know we should not do many times over, until it seems to not bother us anymore or at least not as much and it harms our conscience. The habit of wanting to sin has been from the beginning. We enjoy all the world has to offer and when that seems not to be enough we imagine ways to derive more satisfaction for ourselves, but the satisfaction we find is not the true satisfaction our souls are yearning for. We are all one people of different nations. I am glad you are one of the faithful and thanks for brightening my day.

      • Sheryl Blossom April 20, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

        i totally agree with everything that you said. you’re very enlightening. ☺ Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts. 😁

      • gruntfootman April 21, 2014 at 6:16 am #

        You are not alone Sheryl Blossom.

      • gruntfootman May 1, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

        ……but haven’t you read: ” the heart is deceitful above all things?”
        Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever believed you were right about something; so right that there was no one on earth that could tell you that you were wrong. You were right, you knew deep within your heart of hearts that you were right and convincing you otherwise was incomprehensible. But later, you found out that what you were so sure of and believed to your very core was so right was suddenly very wrong? Ouch! This has been my experience a few times.
        I recognize the deceitfulness of sin and I use the stories of the books of the Old and New Testaments to reinforce my presumptions.

  2. Frank April 20, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    Hi, Sheryl. It’s very good that you pray. Please include me in your prayers! πŸ™‚ Just wanna remind you, though, that Jesus was a religious man/God. He loved going to the Temple and preaching and doing the Passover feast and other traditional stuff. But he also loved praying everywhere, whether alone or in public (such as during his miracles). I still haven’t finished reading the Bible too, but it’s very enlightening to read it regularly! πŸ™‚

    • Sheryl Blossom April 20, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

      hi Frank! sure. i will. ☺ i know that Jesus was religious. I dont have anything against people who are religious. I respect them for their passion and discipline. Im only saying that Im not religious but that doesnt mean I love Jesus any less. ☺

Leave a Reply

