I Conquered the Philippines: Iloilo City ii

1 Mar
Celebrating the beautiful culture of the Ilonggos
 once again :)
Experiencing the wonderful finds in one of the Philippine
 provinces: Iloilo City.

Iloilo City

In the year 2010, I was once again given the chance to explore Iloilo City. (Please click here to read my first blog about this province) For this visit, I was able to immerse myself more in the different restaurants around the city. Please check out my food finds below:

Restaurants

Dos Marias Pizzeria

The first time I’ve heard of a 30″ pizza was when I first saw Mamma Maria’s billboard here in Cebu. But I never got the chance to see the real thing. Good thing my friend ordered the gigantic-sized pizza during her birthday celebration. Iloilo’s version is Mamma Maria’s sister company – Dos Marias Pizzeria. They had the exact same size and the taste was as satisfying as the size of the huuuuuuuuge pizza. 🙂

 

Suhiro Japanese Restaurant

The Japanese restaurant in our backyard. 🙂 They are located in the Sarabia compound, near the poolside area. They serve buffet every Tuesdays and Thursdays for PHP 300.00. They usually arrange their wasabe in cute little designs.

 

Breakthrough Restaurant

The restaurant is well-known for their really good seafood cuisine. We had our kickoff celebration here and all of us had full stomachs when we went back to the hotel. The food though was a bit expensive. If you’re into Filipino food, then this restaurant is a definite must-try for you. 🙂

 

Freska

Located in Smallville, Freska restaurant proudly claims that they serve real Ilonggo cuisine. We tried out their Bilao and the infamous KBL soup. I wasn’t able to take a picture of the soup but according to my Ilonggo friend, this soup is really one of their specialties. And I totally agree because the soup was really good 🙂

 

Mango Tree

A beautiful restaurant located a bit far from the city. There’s a huge mango tree in the middle of this garden restaurant. They also have a mini bazaar where they sell Thailand-imported clothes and other accessories. I loved the lighting of the place and the fact that the restaurant was very in touch with nature. Must-try dishes are Sizzling Bulalo and Frozen Mango Iced Tea.

 

Splash

One of the most unique restaurants I’ve ever been to – Splash. The restaurant had carseats as their chairs. 🙂 And they had this DJ playing dance beats while everyone was enjoying their meals. The Crispy Pata was the highlight in our table. 🙂 I strongly recommend that you DON’T eat the “sinuglaw” because my friend had allergy attacks after eating it since the fish used wasn’t fresh. But all the rest of the food were really good. 😉

 

Buto’t Balat

If there’s one food that is popular in Iloilo aside from the Batchoy, is the Talaba. 🙂 These are broiled Shells that are a bit exotic-tasting but really good when paired with spicy vinegar. Buto’t Balat is one of the restaurants that serve Talaba. Aside from this, they also serve the best Shell Soup. 🙂

 

Mexican Cantina

 

Another restaurant located in Smallville. They serve Mexican dishes and drinks. 🙂 We tried out their drinks and we weren’t disappointed. 🙂 If you want to have a “Chill” night in the city, you should really consider this place.

 

The Barbecue Place

A really cool place along one of the city’s major highways. They also served Talaba. And there were a lot of other dishes as well that were both affordable and great-tasting.

 

Nightlife Spots:

I also discovered new places to hangout inside Smallville.

 

Brewery

A bar located near Freska restaurant. They played 80’s music during Saturdays and a lot of people who hung out there had the age bracket of around late 20’s to early 30’s. 🙂

 

Pirates

We discovered another place to sing at the top of our lungs – Pirates. They also had a restaurant with live band every night. The rooms were very affordable and they had the best tasting Beef Salpicao ever. Their songs list was also very updated and the rooms were very spacious.

 

Cultural Discovery

Museo Iloilo

I’ve always enjoyed going to museums. And I’ve wanted to visit Iloilo’s since last year. Fortunately, I finally got the chance to do so this year. The museum is only open during weekdays from 9am to 5pm. So on the day we were about to leave for Cebu, I had a quick tour in their museum before heading to the airport. 🙂 Their museum didn’t have any tour guide but it wasn’t that big either so you could just go around and read the write-ups in each display. 🙂

 

—————–

 

I’m glad I had the chance to visit Iloilo City once again. I was able to immerse myself more into their culture which made my one-month stay worthwhile.

Toodles! ♥

One Response to “I Conquered the Philippines: Iloilo City ii”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World War 3 predictions - March 2, 2011

    […] Nice related topic here: https://sherylblossom.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/i-conquered-the-philippines-iloilo-ii/ Further you can see this related post: […]

Leave a Reply

